aprilseverydayblog

Just another WordPress.com site

A Final Letter to Gramma…

on December 19, 2011

Dear Gramma,

Christmas is just a few days away and the tree is decorated, presents wrapped and cookies are almost baked.  Thanksgiving was good-we had dinner early and went for a walk afterward because the weather was nice.

I don’t know if I ever told you that I’m glad we reunited six years ago.  My only regret is that we didn’t connect much sooner than that.  I enjoy the letters and phone calls we share.  I have kept all of the cards and letters we exchange.

It has been two months since you left us and went to be with Jesus.  Although this Christmas may be hard for us, I know it is your first Christmas with Jesus.  And what can compare to that???  I miss you very much and always will.  But I have the memories and pictures of our time together.

I never thought that the last time we talked on the phone would be our last.  I knew the time would come but I thought there was more time.

There is only one thing I never asked-and Patrick is curious about the answer-did you ever jump on that bus you watched out your front window everyday  and see where it went?  I know that there will a “bus” I want to jump on someday-but I might be afraid to get on board.  I might be concerned about reactions from those around me.  But if it’s something worthwhile, I think I’ll have to just jump on it and see where it takes me.

Goodbye for now Gramma.  I know I’ll see you in Heaven.  Until then, I’ll always miss you and remember you.

Love,

April

Leave a Reply

