aprilseverydayblog

Just another WordPress.com site

It’s about time-I’m learning to crochet using a Pattern!

on April 3, 2012

I love to crochet.  I asked for crochet hooks and yarn for Christmas when I was about 11 years old.   My mom taught me how to make a chain stitch and that’s where I left crocheting-until I hit my 20’s.  I didn’t know any crochet stitches so I taught myself how to double crochet.  And for years I made blankets using only this very handy stitch.  A couple of years ago, I found a book on many different stitches and patterns.  I experimented some with shells and pineapple stitch but still felt very comfortable just using the trusty double crochet for my blankets.

A few months ago, I decided it was time to step it up a little.  I decided to try using patterns to make blankets.  So I found a book at the library that I loved so much my husband purchased it for me as a Christmas present.  This book is designed for you to make granny squares and in it,  I found a pretty “Blocks and Shells” pattern.

So I set out to begin crocheting this block.  It took several days for me to understand the pattern and had to start over several times, but I finally figured it out.  I’m happy to report that two weeks later, I have three of these squares finished.  I have several more to make before joining them together but I’m pretty happy with what I’ve accomplished so far.  When I’ve finished this masterpiece, I’ll post a picture for you to see.

I’m glad I took the time to figure out this pattern because it is so pretty.  This has opened a new world of crocheting to me.  Check back later to see the progress I’ve made!

Leave a Reply

