aprilseverydayblog

Just another WordPress.com site

Strawberry Freezer Jam

on May 17, 2012

 

The other day I realized that we were running low on Smucker’s Jam and needed more.  I had three pounds of strawberries in the fridge, some freezer jam pectin, and freezer containers on hand.  I made five eight ounce jars and have four in the freezer.  If you’ve never made your own jam before, this is a perfect way to make it!  So here it goes:

You’ll need:

Fruit- I used strawberries (but you can use other berries, plums, peaches, etc)  Note:  The procedure for peach jam is different:  Please consult the package for instructions.

Sugar

Freezer Jam Pectin (Available at grocery stores; I used a single packet)

Freezer Containers (I used Ball’s Freezer Jam containers because I have them on hand)

First, prep your fruit.  I cut the core of the strawberry off, washed them well, and chopped them finely.

Then,  I put the fruit in my mini-food processor and hit the grind button.

Next, pour the sugar and pectin into a bowl and stir until well combined.   Add the strawberries and stir for three minutes.  Finally, ladle your jam into your containers, let sit on the counter for 30 minutes to let it set, and freeze!

I hope you enjoy your jam as much as we are enjoying ours!   What kind of fruit would you use?

 

One response to “Strawberry Freezer Jam

  1. Alison says:

    Strawberry is definitely the favorite at our house. I have never made freezer jam, but I have canned it many times. This looks so simple, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

