aprilseverydayblog

Just another WordPress.com site

Can I Really Freeze Breakfast Meals?

on July 30, 2012

On a quest to save money in our household, I have read many books over the past few months.  One of the money-saving tips I found that leads to a great savings is cooking from scratch and making your own freezer meals.  With two kiddos (almost 4 and 14 months old) dinnertime seems to be a little crazy lately.  (It’s almost like a radar screen:  Mom is in the kitchen making dinner, let’s throw a tantrum!).

Over the course of the next several posts, I want to share with you some easy meals you can freeze.  Today, we’ll focus on breakfast (perhaps the easiest of each day’s meals). Even as a stay-at-home mom, I find that keeping breakfast in the freezer helps our day go more smoothly.  I have more time to accomplish my cleaning chores for each day (a post for another time) and to play Chutes and Ladders with my son.

Freezing breakfast is so easy because you can freeze just anything you can think of.  Here are some ideas for your freezer:

  • Pancakes
  • French Toast
  • Waffles
  • Muffins
  • Cinnamon Rolls
  • Baked Oatmeal (One Batch of this yields enough for three pans for my family)
  • Farmer’s Casserole (I haven’t tried to freeze eggs yet, but I know that Quiche can be frozen.  Let me know if you try)

You can serve each of these with yogurt, scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage, etc.  I also serve cold cereal, toast, and fruit twice a week.  Your meal plan for breakfast could look like this:

  • Sunday:           Eggs, French Toast
  • Monday:         Cereal, Toast, Fruit
  • Tuesday:         Cinnamon Rolls, Scrambled Eggs, Fruit
  • Wednesday:   Yogurt with berries, Muffins
  • Thursday:        Cold Cereal, Toast, Fruit
  • Friday:             Pancakes, Hard-Boiled Eggs
  • Saturday:        Waffles, Potatoes, Scrambled Eggs

Now I’d like to know what you freeze for breakfast!  Stay tuned for the next freezer meal post!

 

Leave a Reply

