aprilseverydayblog

Just another WordPress.com site

Homemade Diaper Wipes

on August 13, 2012

Making homemade diaper wipes is so easy (and much less expensive).   I began making these about six months ago and it works so well for me, that I won’t buy already made diaper wipes.  You only need a few supplies:

  • Paper Towels (Viva works well, but I’ve found that almost any brand will work.  I’ve been using Scott Naturals)
  • Knife and Knife Sharpener
  • 1 Tablespoon of your favorite baby wash or shampoo
  • 1/2 to 1 tablespoon baby oil
  • 1  cup of water
  • Container to store the wipes (an old diaper wipes box works well

First, sharpen a knife.  Then begin cutting a roll of paper towels in half.  Halfway through cutting (or as necessary) re-sharpen the knife and finish cutting the paper towel roll.  Then, remove the cardboard tube from the center.  You can use a pair of pliers and yank it out.  If you find another way to remove the tube, try it.  It doesn’t matter how it’s removed as long as it gets out of there and the paper towels aren’t wasted.  (I just my hands and kind of fold the tube in half and pull it out that way).

Then, mix the soap and oil into the water (because my kid’s have sensitive skin, I use plain water on my wipes.  For some reason, they were getting diaper rashes from the soap and the oil).  Pour the water over the wipes.  Add a little more water if necessary to thoroughly wet the paper towels.

Put them in your chosen container and there you have it!   Use your homemade wipes for anything you would use a store-bought wipe.  Now, it’s your turn!  Tell me how you like using homemade diaper wipes!

Leave a Reply

